top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamia Vella

Celebrating Samhain

Without question, this is my favorite holiday during my favorite time of year and as the witching hour approaches I often find myself feeling reflective. For those who do not know, Samhain is an ancient celebration honoring death. The death of one season to be reborn into another. The end of the harvest brings on longer and darker nights where the chill of oncoming winter gives us time to remember those who have passed beyond the veil. It is also a time to bid farewell to the path we were on and begin new adventures.


This year we have been blessed with the brightness of not only a full moon, but also a blue moon. Symbolically for me that combination means this is a time to look forward while honoring what has past. I am who and what I am because of the paths I have walked to get to this point in time. That does not mean I must stay on the same path or let those past travels define my future. No other time for me feels so much like a fresh start than Samhain night.


Tonight as I gaze into the glow of a vibrant blue moon, I reflect on what has passed away from my life and what I will put aside. I ask for insight in finding the path I will take in what, for me, becomes a new year. I plant the seeds which will sleep through the long winter nights and cultivate them with my dreams and desires willing they to bloom with the birth of the spring.

Samhain Sentinel

This Samhain evening, I stand sentinel for the ghosts of the past, the beauty of the present, and the vision of the future. Wherever you are, however you celebrate this night, may some part of the power of it touch you and leave you with a treat. Blessed Samhain, so mote it be.


Thank you for reading,

𝓓𝓪𝓶𝓲𝓪 𝓥𝓮𝓵𝓵𝓪

 

Credits


Backdrop ~ Dark Background by MINIMAL

Pose ~ Drift Pose by FOXCITY


Hair ~ Bride by Doe

Ears ~ Yong Wind by .:[PUMEC] :.

Makeup ~ Skeleton Face Tattoo by PMS

Necklace ~ Dominique Leather Collar by Maxi Gossamer

Body Suit ~ Skelly Bodysuit by -Narcisse-

Rings ~ Adel Rings by (Yummy)

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page